Cafe 51

Okay. I admit it. I am addicted to trying new burgers. What started out as a way for my son and I to share some time together now sees me ducking off at lunch time to sample new burgers. Like an illicit tryst, I can’t help but feel like I’m cheating on my son with protein and carbohydrates. Oh the irreverent sustenance.

But enough of that, with my guilt repressed, let’s talk about my latest adventure. Café 51 occupies a special corner of South Melbourne reserved for businesses ranging from lawn-mower sales to used car sales and back-street gyms. In short, the perfect location for a burger joint selling a burger named The Paralyzer.

I came with an open mind, empty stomach and healthy level of anxiety at what lay ahead at 51 Buckhurst Street, South Melbourne. I’d seen the Instagram photos – the burgers stacked 4,6 or even 8 layers high – using crunchy, southern-fried chicken in place of a bun as if to appeal to the celiac in all of us. Would I like it? Is the offering more form less function? Would I be forced to eat The Paralyzer? All excellent questions with unfortunately a non-excellent answer…

Grant

Burger – #Burgerlove (add bacon)

Rating – 3 out of 5

The Words – The bun was super soft but rather generic in flavour, which is not necessarily a bad thing. Juicy as hell as evidenced by the gush of meat juice and sauce that pooled on the wooden board as I picked #burgerlove up. Nice crispy bacon accompanies a decent quality patty that, whilst slightly over-cooked, packs more than enough flavour. The American cheddar also does a good job of holding the protein together and could even do with another slice. However this burger is ALL burgerlove sauce, which as far as I can tell, consists of sweet American mustard, sweet pickles and potentially sweet mayonnaise. Unfortunately it’s all I can taste and really detracts from the otherwise tasty, tasty burger. Still, I be back. There are plenty of other tasty looking burgers to try!

Cafe 51 Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a comment